In 2009, Italy will welcome 80,000 seasonal workers. The same quota as in 2008 and 2007. The new quota concerns non-EU seasonal employees coming from Serbia, Bosnia,  Herzegovina, ex Yugoslavia Republic, Macedonia, Croatia, India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka and Ukraine. The same applies to those non-EU seasonal employees coming from those countries which have already or are about to sign a cooperation agreement on migration matters (Tunisia, Albania, Morocco, Moldavia and Egypt). Finally, those non-EU citizens who held a residence permit for seasonal employment in the years 2006, 2007 or 2008. As for the other non-seasonal workers, on 18th March the Ministry of Home Affairs Roberto Maroni announced that there will be no decree on immigration flows this year.

(Metropoli - La Repubblica)